Science Studies

All courses, faculty listings, and curricular and degree requirements described herein are subject to change or deletion without notice. Updates may be found on the Academic Senate website:

Program Director

Robert S. Westman


William Bechtel, PhD, Philosophy

Craig Callender, PhD, Philosophy

Lisa Cartwright, PhD, Communication

Nancy Cartwright, PhD, Philosophy

Gerald D. Doppelt, PhD, Philosophy

Chandra Mukerji, PhD, Communication

Naomi Oreskes, PhD, History

Andrew Scull, PhD, Sociology

Eric Watkins, PhD, Philosophy

Robert S. Westman, PhD, History

Professors Emeriti

Paul M. Churchland, PhD, Philosophy

Martin J.S. Rudwick, PhD, History

Associate Professors

Kelly Gates, PhD, Communication

Cathy Gere, PhD, History

Tal Golan, PhD, History

Martha Lampland, PhD, Sociology

David Serlin, PhD, Communication

Charles Thorpe, PhD, Sociology

Assistant Professors

Morana Alac, PhD, Communication

Christian Wuthrich, PhD, Philosophy

Affiliated Faculty/Researchers

Karen Baker, MD, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Roddey Reid, PhD, Literature

Linda Strauss, PhD, Sixth College

Kalindi Vora, PhD, Ethnic Studies